CBI Research Program: Tomash Fellowship
University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

The Adelle and Erwin Tomash Fellowship in the History of
Information Technology

The Charles Babbage Institute is accepting applications for the 2021-2022 Adelle and Erwin Tomash Graduate Fellowship. The fellowship will be awarded to a graduate student for doctoral dissertation research in the history of computing.

The fellowship may be held at the recipient's home academic institution, the Charles Babbage Institute, or any other location with appropriate research facilities. The stipend is $14,000. It is for students who have completed all requirements for the doctoral degree except the research and writing of the dissertation. Tomash Fellowship recipients must remain students in good standing throughout the term of their fellowship, but there is no restriction on holding other fellowships, scholarships, or awards concurrent to the Tomash Fellowship.

Preference will be given to applicants indicating a need to use CBI materials, planning research in residence at CBI, and willing to make a brief presentation of their research findings to CBI staff. Questions pertaining to collection content and access can be directed to Amanda Wick, CBI Interim Archivist, at abwick@umn.edu.

To Apply:

Applicants should send to CBI a curriculum vitae and a five-page (single-spaced) statement and justification of the research project including a discussion of methods, research materials, evidence of faculty support for the project, and bibliography (bibliography does not count toward page count). Applicants should also arrange for three letters of reference and certified copies of graduate school transcripts to be sent directly to CBI.

All materials must be received by CBI no later than January 15, 2021.

Application materials should be sent to cbi@umn.edu. A confirmation email will be sent once your application has been received.

Alternatively, applications may be mailed to:
Charles Babbage Institute: Tomash Fellowship
211 Andersen Library
University of Minnesota
222 - 21st Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Please direct questions about the Tomash Fellowship to Jeffrey Yost, Director, yostx003@umn.edu, 612.624.5050

CBI's Tomash Fellows

  • William Aspray, University of Wisconsin 1978-1979, 1979-1980
  • Paul Ceruzzi, University of Kansas 1979-1980
  • William McHenry, University of Arizona 1981-1982, 1982-1983
  • Larry Owens, Princeton University 1983-1984
  • Stuart Shapiro, Carnegie Mellon University 1985-1986, 1986-1987
  • Clifford Nass, Princeton University 1986-1987
  • Frederik Nebeker, Princeton University 1987-1988
  • Shane Greenstein, Stanford University 1988-1989
  • Anthony Gandy, London School of Economics 1989-1990
  • Janet Abbate, University of Pennsylvania 1990-1991
  • Mark Clark, University of Delaware 1991-1992
  • Michele Jackson, University of Minnesota 1992-1993
  • Irving Elichirigoity, University of Illinois 1993-1994
  • Patricia Hemmis, University of Minnesota 1994-1995
  • Atsushi Akera, University of Pennsylvania 1995-1996
  • Christophe Lecuyer, Stanford University 1996-1997
  • Mark Bowles, Case Western Reserve University 1997-1998
  • Leslie Berlin, Stanford University 1998-1999
  • Thomas Haigh, University of Pennsylvania 1999-2000

  • Nathan Ensmenger, University of Pennsylvania 2000-2001
  • Rachel Yould, Oxford University 2001-2002
  • Gualtiero Piccinini, University of Pittsburgh 2002-2003
  • Eden Medina, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 2003-2004
  • Ronald Frazzini, University of Minnesota 2004-2005
  • Marie Hicks, Duke University 2005-2006
  • Andrew Russell, Johns Hopkins University 2006-2007
  • Corinna Schlombs, University of Pennsylvania 2007-2008
  • Ian J. Walsh, Boston College 2008-2009
  • Christopher McDonald, Princeton University 2009-2010
  • Honghong Tinn, Cornell University 2010-2011
  • Andrew McGee, University of Virginia 2011-2012
  • Ksenia Tatarchenko, Princeton University 2012-2013
  • Joy Rankin, Yale University 2013-2014
  • Jacob Gaboury, New York University 2014-2015
  • Gerardo Con Diaz, Yale University 2015-2016
  • Kevin T. Baker, Northwestern University 2016-2017
  • Ekaterina Babintseva, University of Pennsylvania 2017-2018
  • Theodora J. Dryer, University of California, San Diego 2018-2019
  • Colette Perold, New York University 2019-2020
  • Aaron Plasek, Columbia University 2020-2021